• May 20, 2004
  • Posted by Marc

Profile: Acamonchi


/>Age: I’m 33 years old
Ensenada, Baja Mexico
Where do you now live?: San
Diego, CA
Where would you most like to live?: Filthy rich
in Vancouver Canada
Who was your first “hero” in life?:
Darth Vader
What is your favorite thing to do on your day
off from work?:
Spend time with my wife Cherity and my son Ethan
/>What is your favorite color?: Green
Who (or
what) do you love?:
Cherity, Ethan and Nini the cat, fresh fruit +
vegetables, skateboarding, high speed internet, freedom, good spray paint,
double expressos on ice, good friends, traveling, electronic music, punk


/>Who and/or what are some of your influences?

influences comes from different sources, at some point I got really interested
in Dada, Surrealism, Fluxus, Pop Art, Situationism, Mail Art, Punk Rock,
Graffiti, Industrial Culture, Skateboarding, Electronica, Computers, Mexican Pop
Culture, etc. In the end, I’m a product of my own environment.

/>What other artists do you most admire?

Neil Blender, Ed Templeton, Don Pendleton, Nick Blicko, Warhol, Surge, Havok,
Shep Dogg Fairey, Aser 7, Angeles Moreno, Seth Tobocman, Workhorse, a lot of my
friends and way too many names to remember.

How would
you describe your art to someone who could not see it?

/>Graffiti inspired but not necessarily Gangsta, Mexican but not
necessarely Chicano art either. (Nothing to do with their gig but I’m not into
cliches like Virgins, Low Riders, Fridas or Che Guevaras, so fuck that) My art
deals with straight up experimentation and the Northern Mexican feeling (See the
Nortec Collective for example of what I’m talking about)

/>What other talent would most like to have?

I never learn to play any instruments or learned how to sing. Now I try to
compensate my lack of musical talent by working or supporting the underground
music scene.

What do you fear the most?
Besides anything bad happening to my loved ones, I’m afraid to
be ignored-forgotten, to lose my vision or any part of my body, anything else
can be replaced ie overcomed.

What is your greatest

Make enough money to live comfortably, do tons
of art and travel all around the world, I’d also like to build schools in Mexico
or help existing schools to improve the education levels with art classes,
killer computer rooms, libraries, skate parks and whatever can help kids learn,
grow, and be healthy. I’d also like to live somewhere in Mexico in a ultra
exclusive neigborhood where people are really silly and pretentious and I’ll be
all punked up skateboard around and piss them off everyday.



style="clear:both; padding-bottom: 0.25em;">